All Updates

Jonathan

Week 3 progress:

This is the last week of European food. This past week I have been trying to food another dish. The only thing that has gone wrong is not submitting my posts. My overall progress has been slow, but I will know be a lot faster and post on time and be more prepared for weeks ahead. Adjustments that need to be made is staying connected with other members in the group because we are not all on the same page and it would be a lot easier if we were all connected. I need to accomplish staying on track and keeping my blog clean and nice. This week I made crepes. It is a very delicious dish that can be eaten for breakfast and dessert. I like this dish a lot because you can put whatever you want in it. Also because you can design it how ever you want. The bread is very soft and good. You fill it in with whatever you want like strawberries, blueberries, bannanas and many othere fruit. Then you add the unhealthy things like whipped cream, chocolate syrup, chocolate chips and any other things you want. I will make this dish whenever I have time. It is so amazingly delicious and very easy to make.

Week 1 Progress:

Aloha, my name is Jonathan Lawrence and I am a Freshmen at Kamehameha Schools Maui. This week we created our blog. The only things that has gone wrong is taking a while to find a food for this week. I have learned that it takes time to find foods and prepare it and make it. Next I will continue to post every week the dish that I have made and find a dish for next week to post. Some adjustments that need to be made is keeping the blog up, nice and clean. Tasks that need to be completed is doing things early and communication with other members of my group to always know what is going on. This week I ate a chocolate croissant. It was very delicious but it was store bought. I wish the I cooked it homemade but now I know that I will cook my other dishes homemade. I don’t really eat croissants, mainly because my family buys muffins. For now on I will be eating a lot more croissants than muffins. I was very surprised of how good it was. It was nice and warm and just delicious. You can easily get it at many stores like Safeway and Starbucks.

IMG_0615

Seana

Week 14 Progress:

This past week we worked on the finishing touches for our TED Talk presentation. This past week we’ve also practiced our TED Talk presentations in front of Mrs. McCall. We were given a few suggested corrections and we worked on those this week.

One problem we had this week was having each group members contributing an equal amount. I feel like we’ve been having this problem throughout the whole project. The responsibility of the project leader has been passed around a lot of times and I think we should have established what was expected of each of us before we started. What i’ve learned from this is to know what is expected from you and if you are responsible for something make sure you make it a priority.

I feel that we are on track for an on time delivery. We’ll have to finish up the blog posts by this weekend and make up anythings we may have missed, such as, blog posts, instagram posts, or regular posting of recipes and facts on our blog site.

IMG_5020

Week 13 Progress:

Wow! This project has flown by.We now have at least one week left of this journey. We have moved on the Mexican and I can say, so far, it’s been a blast. Some things we have accomplished are filming and editing for our presentation, adding to our blog posts, posting on out Instagram, and cooking our foods for the month. Jonathan and I went to Amigos to have some Mexican food. We had a chimichanga and fried ice cream.

Some things that went wrong throughout this process was when I was editing the footage for our video, everything deleted. From this experience i’ve gained a deeper knowledge and better skill for Imovie.

I feel that we are ready for an on time delivery. Some things that we need to get done before our presentation are our product, video, and preparedness for our presentation. One idea for our product is macaroons for the whole class.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 2.08.14 PM.png

Week 12 Progress:

This week we ended our Thai food section for our project. I consumed a lot of Thai food and it was great. We began practicing out TED talk scripts and timing it. This last week we went around the island looking for all of the restaurants that serve the foods from the countries we are featuring on our blog. We covered Italian and Mexican on Saturday. We are planning a little surprise for our presentation that gives the audience a little taste of what we have been experiencing throughout this project.

There were not any things that went wrong this week. I made some spring rolls and I never new how to fold them properly. Now, I can say that I have spring roll rolling skills.

Next, we move on to Mexican. We have already added facts and good-to-know information about Mexico and their dishes. All we have to do now is memorize our scripts verbatim and keep up to date with our Instagram and blog.

Screen Shot 2016-05-13 at 1.55.20 PM

Week 11 Progress:

This past week was a successful week. I wrote all of the TED talk outline and assigned each section of our presentation to each on my group mates. The last deadline was very stressful and disappointing because I ended up writing the whole TED talk full text. I didn’t want to, I tried to get my fellow group members to help out, but I guess there is so much you can do. From this I learned leadership skills.

Currently, i’m working getting everyone to memorize their sections of the presentation. I think we are on the right track for an on time delivery. Some things we need to get done are our blog , our blog posts, and our TED talk presentation. Now we are working on perfecting our project and smoothing out all the imperfections. Also, we are putting together our videos that we are going to be presenting for our TED talk presentation.

IMG_4923

Week 10 Progress:

This past week we finished our TED Talk outline and this week we are starting our full text for our TED Talk. We also posted on our Instagram and posted our weekly blog posts (weekly updates) that are here on this page.

Nothing has really gone wrong this week. One of our group members was gone for a large portion of our class, which set us back a little. One thing i’m challenged with is managing everything I have to do for this project. However, I always end up getting things done.

We have been making a lot of progress with our project. We discussed the things we need to add to our TED talk presentations and the things we need to put to the side. We learned what is crucial to our project and what is irrelevant. I feel that we are finally on track for an on time delivery. Two things that need to be done for this to happen are posting on our Instagram and getting personal statements from restaurant owners and cooks that serve the foods we are researching.

IMG_4794.JPG

 

Week 9 Progress:

This past week we accomplished many things. We updated our blog posts and tweaked some things on our website. We also posted on our Instagram the pictures we took of the food we ate and gave a little information about the dish or culture. We started our TED talk outline as well that is due this Friday. There wasn’t anything that went wrong. Throughout this week i’ve learned a bit about team work and that without it your project won’t reach it’s potential. Our communication skills have improved a lot. We started a group message where we can contact each other easily.

Overall our progress has been slow but we are getting closer and will have an on time delivery. Some things that need to be done are our blog posts that are due this Friday and next, our instagram post every weekend, and out TED talk outline that is due this Friday as well.

IMG_4791.jpg

Week 8 Progress:

This past week we had an Indian dish. I also did some research on the Indian culture and the traditional foods they eat. We accomplished our weekly blog post. Things we need to accomplish are posting on our instagram and updating our recipes. I recently got some interesting and relevant news. I might be able to go the Spring break Japan trip. I wanted of going to Japan because of all the different things there. This trip relates to this project and blog because while i’m there i’ll be able to experience different cultural foods.

Our overall progress is going well. I really like the way our website looks and how it is organized. I think we are on track with our on-time delivery. We’re currently working on our tedtalk script or text that will be given in a couple of weeks. There aren’t really any adjustments that need to be made besides continuing to go at this rate and progress with updating our blog.

Next we’ll be working on making our recipes and researching about the culture. Some things that need to be done are the making of authentic recipes and taking the time to research and learn about why they have that dish.

IMG_4755.jpg

Week 7 Progress:

This past week I ate my indian dish for the week. For my dish I had naan bread, chickpea daal, and baked brussel sprouts. I also caught up with our groups Instragram, which was very necessary. There’s still a lot to do on the instagram. We haven’t been keeping up with our posts and our dishes. What I hope will get done this weekend is for the Instagram to be updated completely, our recipes uploaded to our blog, blog posts up to date, and information about the dish and it’s county uploaded.

One thing i’ve noticed we’ve been having trouble with is time management. My team members and I haven’t been keeping up with making our foods and finding out more about the culture. From this I learned the importance of passion. If you don’t have a passion for something or loose you passion your performance will  decrease. There’s one skill I know i’ve gained throughout these past couple weeks. That skill is leadership. For the past couple of weeks i’ve been taking things into my own hands. For example, the website was very disorganized. I saw that no one else was willing to re-do the whole website, so I had to do it myself and i’m very proud of it. I’ve also been the only one posting on our instagram, trying to keep things up to date.

Right now I feel after this weekend we will be on track for an on-time delivery. As a group we need to understand the importance of this project and see what we can do to not only finish the project, but make sure we leave the project with a new understanding of culture.

Next, is cooking our Indian dishes and posting them on our platforms. This week we need to post, research the Indian culture, and present what we learned on our blog site. These things need to be done by, at least, Monday or Tuesday.

IMG_6600

Week 6 progress:

This past week we returned from Spring Break. This past week we also tried Thai food. For my Thai food recipe I chose to have a Thai chicken salad. We continued to post on our Instagram platform and make Thai or Vietnamese recipes. One thing that I personally accomplished was finishing and re-designing our website. One thing that went wrong was the uncertainty of each group member doing their duties to the project. What I learned from this challenging experience is to make sure that I am in contact with all my group members even if when we donʻt go to school and see each other.

Throughout this past week my web designing skills have improved by a lot. By being faced with the challenge of having an unorganized website I was forced to take matters into my own hands and redesign and learn how to make a whole new website, Which I actually enjoyed doing

We have made a lot of process throughout this project and I feel that we are on track with our on time delivery.

For future months we need to make sure that we are posting our recipes and food finds on our platform and updating out blog with different recipes and blog posts. Next we need to prepare on our TEDtalk and maybe have a group meeting on where we are and where we need to get to. Some things that need to be done are our blog posts, eating or making the months food, and posting on our groups Instagram.

IMG_4668

Week 5 Progress

This past week my group and I tried Thai cuisine (we made separate dishes on out own). This past week I had Pad Thai and Massaman Curry. This week we accomplished many things such as, starting a new food theme, completing our weekly blog post and the posting of our meals on our group’s Instagram.

One thing I think we struggled with this week was motivation. As we approach spring break the morality levels in our group start to drop. I go to sleep early and always set my homework aside because I know it’s not due until the end of the week. Meaning I had no urgency.

This next week we will be continuing to try new and different Thai foods.

I feel that our group is on track for our on-time delivery. After recording our elevator pitch all we need to do is organize and get ready for our Ted Talk on our project. Some things we need to do are post and evaluate our thoughts on the foods we try.

IMG_4383

Week 4 Progress:

This past week was our last week to try any more different European foods. This past week I had Greek salad, Margarita pizza and lobster ravioli. This week we accomplished many things such as, finishing our elevator pitch, our weekly blog post and the posting of our meals on our group’s Instagram.

One thing I think we struggled with this week was time management. I know I haven’t been managing my time very well with sports, school, family, and friends. However, I now know how to organize my time equally among sports, school, family, and friends.

This next week we are starting a new cultural food for the month of March.

I feel that our group is on track for our on-time delivery. After really reading and examining our elevator pitch we realized that we needed to crack down more on making sure what we are saying is perfect. And as the deadline approaches closer and closer we need to start focusing on what we are trying to change and how we can make a convincing argument that states why we need to change this problem and how.

IMG_4392

Week 3 Progress:

For this past week I needed to post on our groups blog, cook or buy and eat a European food, and post a picture of the food I ate on our groups Instagram (@Universalflavorksm). I finished the blog post, cooked spaghetti, which is a food that originates in Italy. Some things I noticed I’ve been having some problems with is taking a picture of what I ate. This past week I forgot to take a picture of the spaghetti I made, so now I have to re-create my dish and take a picture of it so I can post it on our groups Instagram. I’ve learned that I need to remember to take a picture of my dish before I eat it. One way I could ensure that doesn’t happen again is by either setting an alarm for when I have dinner and label it “TAKE PICTURE OF FOOD” or set a reminder in the beginning of the day so that I don’t forget. My cooking skills have improved from where they were before. As a group we’re doing very I well and are on track for an on-time delivery. Some things that need to change is the effort and teamwork put in by all members of the group. Next week we need to redo the process all over again, the bog post, cooking or buying of the food, and picture taking of the food. We need to finish our blog post, which is due next week Friday. Along with the blog post we need to submit the information for our platform.

IMG_4389.JPG

Week 2 Progress:

In the past week we had our different meals. This week we accomplished the flavor pitch for our 20 time project flavor pitch. Some things that happened in the past week was our pitch for our 20 time project flavor pitch that was due. The number one problem we’ve been faced with this past week was communication, again. I was sick for a whole week from school and knew we had our 20 time flavor pitch was due that week. I tried to communicate both of my team members but was not contacted back. I was worried for the team that we would not get the flavor pitch done in time for the dead line. However, one team mate was on top if and turned it in on time, I think, still not very strong on the communication. What I’ve learned through this process is to make sure everyone in your group is on the same page and knows what they are supposed to be doing to help move the rest of the group forward. One skill improved on was trust. I trusted that my other group members were capable of being responsible for the assignment that was due for all of us. We are on track with our on-time delivery and communication is the only adjustment that needs to be made. We need to accomplish our weekly blog posts and our next deadline. Two tasks that need to be completed are our blog posts and our elevator pitch.

IMG_6689

Week 1 Progress:

This month’s food theme was European. Each person in our group was given the option of any European recipe or food to eat. Last weekend I had a chicken pesto Panini with mozzarella cheese and tomatoes on ciabatta bread. The Panini originates from Italy. I’ve never had chicken and pesto in a sandwich before and I really enjoyed the flavors from the different parts of the dish. The Panini I had was homemade, but there are many Italian places on Maui where you can get Panini’s. One place that serves them is Fabiani’s in Wailea and Kihei. There are many different types of Panini’s that have tomato or marinara sauce instead of pesto. One new European food I’d like to try is Crepes. Crepes were founded in France. I’ve seen crepes made at the Kaahumanu mall here on Maui and at Café des Amis in Paia. I’d like to try a sweet crepe as well as a savory crepe.IMG_4252

Taylor

Week 3 Progress:

This week is our third week of European Foods. Next week we will be doing Vietnamese/Thai for March. This week I made Stuffed Bell Peppers.

IMG_9077

Week 2 Progress:

This week is our second week of European foods. This weekend I had Iceberg Wedges and Ravioli twice. Ravioli and Iceberg Wedges are two of my favorite Italian foods. On Saturday I went to Marco’s. They make really good Italian food, and give really big portions so you always have extra to take home. On Sunday my dad made Iceberg Wedges and Ravioli for my birthday.

My favorite kinds of ravioli are the mozzarella and spinach, but I will eat any type of ravioli, they’re all good. Iceberg lettuce doesn’t really have any nutritional value but when it’s topped with cherry tomatoes, bacon crumbles and blue cheese you don’t really care about nutritional value.

Ravioli was invented in the 14th Century. the name ravioli is from an old Italian word riavvolgere meaning ‘to wrap’. Chef Boyardee started canning ravioli in the 1930’s. Italian tradition is to serve vegetarian ravioli, typically on Fridays. Meat was a side dish or served later in the meal.Ravioli appears in many cultures besides Italian.

They say Iceberg wedges were first found over 100 years ago when a farmer noticed a sweeter, lighter colored lettuce growing in his farm. It became very popular and was called ‘crisphead’,it’s true name, until the 1920’s. It was then called Iceberg because of it’s ability to travel far and remain fresh when packed in ice. Some claim that a ‘cold pack’ made from iceberg lettuce leaves can give relief to bumps and bruises. If you chill whole leaves in the fridge for an hour; crumple and secure with tape to the injury it will heal.

Week 1 Progress:

This week is our first week of trying new/different European foods.

This past weekend I had fired potatoes topped with a sunny side up egg and toasted croissant with jam.

I enjoy eating croissant and fried potatoes but I had never tried an egg on top of my fried potatoes. I’m not a huge fan of eggs and I’ve never favored the taste but it didn’t taste too bad on top of of the fried potatoes. If you like croissants then you’ll love toasted croissants, they’re so good. The croissant I ate was from Costco so it’s not made the same as a true French croissant. A croissant is crescent if it is not 100% butter, if it is 100% butter then it will be straight.

The croissant was created in Vienna (Austria) in 1863 after they defeated the Turks from seizing them. In celebration of their victory some bakers made a pastry called “Kipferl” which meant “crescent”. It wasn’t called croissant until 1770 when Austrian Princess married King Louis XVI of France. Croissants are enjoyed many different ways throughout Europe; filled with chocolate, covered in nuts, dipped in coffee or plain.

In Germany fried potatoes and egg are called Bratkartoffeln. They are quick and easily made and are enjoyed throughout Germany. They are typically sliced, cooked with onions and topped with a sunny side up egg. They are fried in onion or oil until golden brown crispy. They go well with a bunch of dishes such as Schnitzel or any sausage like Bratwurst or Frankfort Würstchen.

Screen Shot 2016-03-04 at 2.20.08 PM

 

Leave a Reply

